Halal monitoring authority

Halal VS Kosher: Comparison of Islamic and Jewish dietary laws

Judaism and Islam have a culture and society that is coherent with religious teachings and beliefs. Comparison between these two religions is because of their unique and similar aspects. Both religions consist of laws, belief in one God, emphasis on the formulation of a society that conforms to the commandments of Allah, having revealed scriptures, and having a complete discipline of jurisprudence that make laws compatible with their religious text. These two religions are the religion of principles and rules set laws and regulations related to every field of life, such as what to eat, what to wear, how to live and behave with other people, and what kind of laws are applied to formulate a better society and state. The primary source of these laws in Judaism is their religious text Torah (written and oral Torāh), and in Islam, these laws are derived from The Holy Quran.

Each religion has laws that its believers practice. These laws give guidance related to every field of life, including food and dietary laws. Food or diet plays a significant role in maintaining the physical stability of the body of an individual. That is why Islam and Judaism prescribe a comprehensive form of these laws and make them obligatory for their believers to observe them in their daily life practices. In Islamic Sariah, the laws of food and diet are called Halal (Permitted) and Haram (Prohibition), and in Judaism, these laws are called Kosher (Permitted) and Trief (Prohibited). There are some similarities as well as differences between Islamic and Jewish dietary laws.

Halal and kosher are two highly similar dietary laws with little distinction, leading some to believe that kosher is incompatible with halal. However, systems evolve with time, and individuals change as well. On the other hand, the word of God is eternal in Islam and cannot be changed. As a result, Islamic dietary restrictions remain firmly in place. They can endure the test of time thanks to the stringent regulations of certification bodies like the Halal monitoring authority. The Halal Monitoring and Certification Authority (HMA) was founded in 2004 and has been working directly with restaurant owners to establish confidence among halal consumers across Canada. As the demand for halal cuisine grows in Canada, HMA has been looking for methods to help its members and keep the momentum going in this direction. As the worldwide pandemic continues to threaten the foodservice sector, the Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA), Canada’s only certifying organization that monitors at every stage, has agreed to cover the expenses of supporting halal Canadian meat stores and restaurateurs. To get halal meat Toronto, see the list of our certified stores at our website.

Animals are ritually prepared and slaughtered in a specific manner in both religious traditions to be considered meat “halal” to eat. Animals in Islam are slaughtered according to Islamic Law, whereas animals in Judaism are slaughtered according to Jewish laws. On a variety of issues, the religious traditions vary. Muslims, for example, are permitted to eat aquatic animals, but these marine species must have fins and scales to be deemed kosher. Furthermore, Jewish law allows alcohol intake if the grape wine is made according to Kashrut Law, but Islamic law prohibits alcohol consumption.

Both Jewish and Islamic law forbids the consumption of carrion, swine, insects, rodents, and blood. Food that is toxic or immediately damaging to the human body would also be prohibited. Jewish law likewise bans all solid food products that are forbidden by Islamic laws. There are many things that the Jewish law forbids, but the Quran allows. The most prevalent example, namely, specific forms of animal fat, is mentioned in the Quran. The sorts of fats and nerves that are forbidden under Jewish law are specified. The locust is an animal that is specifically named and permitted in both Jewish and Islamic holy texts.

Furthermore, while dairy and meat are both halal and kosher when consumed according to dietary regulations, mixing the two is not permitted under kosher law. Finally, kitchen utensils that come into touch with the items mentioned above (dairy and meat) can be reused after thorough sanitization under Islamic law, but reusing kitchen utensils is prohibited under kosher food law.

Both halal and kosher diets include rules about how meat should be slaughtered before being consumed.

  • Meat must be slaughtered by a shohet, trained to slaughter animals by Jewish rules, and declared kosher.
  • Meats must also be soaked before cooking to ensure that all blood is removed.
  • Animals must be healthy at slaughter and slaughtered using a precise procedure that entails severing the jugular vein, according to halal rules.
  • For meat to be declared halal, the name of Allah must be recited at the time of slaughter.

It’s worth mentioning that the Jewish slaughtering technique has no elements incompatible with the Islamic approach. The animal slaughtering procedure is standard in both laws. However, some kosher slaughter techniques do not follow these standards, which the sharia must reject as not valid Jewish law.

Suppose this is true, and any Jewish organization does not follow their rules or follow laws in conflict with Islamic law. In that case, we will categorically reject their method and output. A Jew or a Christian shall deem meat Halal as Jewish law is followed and abided by, whether. Many modern-day Jewish organizations that sanction kosher products do not adhere to sharia standards or conflict with it, as many Jewish organizations do not concern themselves with the mention of the name of Allah before the slaughter. Thus, many of them cannot be trusted for halal consumption nor the issuing of halal certification by Halal Monitoring authority Canada (HMA).

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Featured companies and partners